Skip To Content


2017/2018 Regular School Calendar

Schools Opening Day for Students
Tue Sep 5, 2017
Non Instructional Day (Elementary & Secondary)
Fri Sept. 22, 2017
Mon Oct 9, 2017
Provincial Professional Development Day
Fri Oct. 20, 2017
Non Instructional Day
Mon Oct 23, 2017
Remembrance Day
Fri Nov 10, 2017
1/2 Day Assessment/Evaluation 11am dismissal
Fri Nov 10, 2017
No School-Stat in Lieu of Remenbrance Day


Parent/Teacher Conferences (Elem & Sec)
Monday, Nov 13, 2018
Fri Nov 25, 2017
Last day before winter vacation
Fri Dec 22, 2017
Schools reopen
Mon Jan 8, 2018
Family Day
Mon Feb 12, 2018
District Professional Development Day
Fri Feb 23, 2018
1/2 Day Assessment/Evaluation (Elementary PM only)
March 2 , 2018
(In lieu of Parent/Teacher Conferences on Mar 9)
Fri Mar 16, 2018
Spring Break - NO SCHOOL
Mar 19-29, 2018
Good Friday/Easter Monday - NO SCHOOL
Stat in Lieu of Good Friday
Schools Reopens
Fri, March 30/Monday April 2, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Wed April 4, 2018
1/2 Day Assessment/Evaluation (Secondary) Friday Apr 13, 2018
Parent/Teacher Conferences (Secondary)
Fri Apr 27, 2018
Non Instructional Day
Fri May 18, 2018
Victoria Day
Mon May 21, 2018
Last Day of School for Students
Thur Jun 28, 2018
Adminstrative Day
Fri Jun 29, 2018
updated: Aug. 28, 2017  

School Cash

Contact Us:

West Heights Community
32065 Van Velzen Avenue
Mission, BC, Canada
V2V 2G6

Tel: 604 826 6401

Fax: 604 826 9934


Darran Forrest


School Day

8:25 a.m. – 2:23 p.m.

First Bell: 8:25

Class time: 8:30-9:55

Recess: 10:05-10:20

Class time: 10:20-11:55

Lunch: 11:35-12:40

Class time: 12:30-2:23

Dismissal 2:23


No Stopping or Parking

There is room to stop along the side of the driveway coming into the school yard and exiting the school yard, as well as in the Parking area.
This is an 'EMERGENCY LANE' and is required by law to stay open.
Thank you


Unscheduled Closures:

Parents / guardians please check

the District website: for updates regarding inclement weather.

Also, you may tune your Radio to:




To register, call the Mission Leisure Centre

Phone: 604.820.5360



Facility Rental

District of Mission - Parks, Recreation & Culture

7650 Grand Street, Mission, BC, V2V 3T3

Phone: 604-820-5368 | Fax: 604-826-4396





click here To read about PAC Meetings and Events


Neuro Emotional Literacy


To sign up, click on the blue link below:



What is it?  

Six one-afternoon-per-week workshops on how emotions work in the brain and the body,

how emotions can be recognized and managed, and how you can help your children learn to better manage their emotions.


Research shows that children who have caregivers (i.e. parents, daycare workers, teachers) who have knowledge about

emotional literacy and who practice and model effective emotion regulation strategies: are more empathetic and less likely

to bully, are better able to cope with stress, do better in school, and experience higher degrees of emotional and physical well-being.

When? One day per week for 6 weeks: October 12–November  16, 2:30 – 5:00 p.m.

Information meeting/registration on October 5, 2017 at 2:25 p.m. Room 134.

Bring your children. Coffee/tea/juice and snacks served.

What’s in it for me?

  • Free childcare while you are attending the workshops
  • Free dinner for you and your family after each workshop
  • Free snacks for you and your children after school (and coffee/tea for adults)
  • Become a better manager of emotions to improve well-being for your family
  • Become part of a parent support group to relieve the stresses of childrearing
  • Certificate of Achievement

Comments from parents who have already completed the workshops:

“Every parent should take this course!”

“I am a better parent and a calmer person after taking this course.”

“Because of this course, I have tackled things I didn’t think I could ever do.”

“I made a very good friend because of this course.”

“I am so much better at dealing with the stress of parenting.”

Contact Dr. Kate Patten at for more information.